THE PROMISE (An Ode To Marriage)

I am inspired by the Promise you bring to my life.
I am committed to the Promise that I bring to yours.
I am motivated by the Promise that we make to each other.
I am bound by the Promise that we make to God.

I Promise to love you always…
To teach you as I am to learn from you.
To praise you as I am to admonish you.
To respect you as I am to accept you.
To support you as I am to lean on you.
To see into you as I am to look past you.
To honor you as I am to forgive you.

I Promise to remember always…
I am your loving friend.
I am your faithful lover.
I am your devoted spouse.
I am all that we are together as we are now one.
For as long as there is you, I am.

COPYRIGHT PROTECTED. ALL RIGHTS RESERVED.

This poem may NOT be reproduced, stored in a retrieval system, transmitted in any form or by any means including mechanical, electronic, photocopying, recording, or otherwise without written permission from the author, R’chelle Cyrus-Hughes.

I'd love to know what you think about this poem. Please leave a reply.

